About CUBRT.

Who is Buffs Racing?

Founded in 2016, the CU Boulder Racing Team is an organization focused on various road racing competitions. Our main goal is building a race car to compete in the intercollegiate competition known as Formula SAE. We also have an entry-level division for endurance racing, for races like the 24 Hours of LeMons. Our club welcomes everyone, with or without racing experience. The only thing we desire from our members is willingness to learn and enthusiasm for racing.

Want to Get Involved?

Are you a student at the University of Colorado Boulder? Do you enjoy working in a fast-paced and supportive team environment? Do you enjoy designing and driving cars that reach speeds upwards of 150mph? If any of these sound like you, then the CU Boulder Racing Team is for you!

Buffs Racing is unofficially the fastest college sports team in Colorado (sorry HyperLoop). Our tightly knit group of over 120 members ranges from freshman to graduate students in all majors and colleges. We work together to design, build, test, and compete in multiple racing categories including the ChampCar Endurance Series and the prestigous global student design competition known as Formula SAE.

We are always looking for passionate and hard-working members to design and drive our cars. If you feel you have what it takes to join the fastest moving club on campus, please send an email to buffsracing@colorado.edu.

Buffs Racing Leadership Team

All of our leadership positions are selected through an application and interview process by current board members. Each position is open to all CU Boulder Racing Team members and may be applied for at any point during the season. Do you feel you would be a good fit for a currently open position or feel there should be a position we do not have? Feel free to send a message and we will get back to you as soon as possible!

Team Officers

Behruz Rashidov

President & Co-Founder

Behruz founded the team in 2016, and studies Mechanical Engineering with a minor in Business Administration. As the president he is responsible for the Formula SAE team, as well as regular board meetings to ensure adequate progress and raise funding.

Tyler Barban

Vice President

From Navan, Ontario, Canada, Tyler came to CU to play on the Men’s Hockey Team. Aside from that, Tyler’s main passion is motorsports, where he races karts across Canada. As VP, Tyler oversees operations of the endurance team and manages the team’s social media accounts.

To Be Determined


Formula SAE Leadership

Aidan Lyons

Project Manager

Jacimar Woodman

Chassis Lead

Hank Kussin-Bordo

Powertrain Lead

Brian Haug

Aerodynamics Lead

Endurance Leadership

To Be Determined

Shop Manager

To Be Determined

Lead Mechanic

To Be Determined

Social Media Director

To Be Determined

Head Driver